contact@allblognow.comLogin
all blog now

May 31, 2024

How Much Is An Ignition Interlock Device In Arizona?

If you have been convicted of DUI in Arizona, it is likely that the court will order an ignition interlock device (IID) installed on your vehicle. This breathalyzer is connected to your car’s ignition and requires you to blow into it every time you want to start the engine. If your BAC registers above the legal limit, the device will beep and warn you to slow down or pull over.

Depending on the severity of your conviction, you may have to have this device in your vehicle for up to one year. This is especially true if you were convicted of a repeat offense or DUI while having a suspended or revoked license. Working with a Mesa DUI attorney can help you reduce the length of your IID requirement or avoid having to get one at all.

How much does an ignition interlock device cost? The answer to this question will vary from provider to provider. There are several factors that go into the price of the IID, including installation, monthly monitoring and calibration fees, and service fees. Typically, the cost of the device is between $70 and $150 to install and then you will pay a monthly rental fee of $60-$80. If you have trouble affording the IID, talk with your provider about economic hardship assistance.

The state of Arizona has many statutes that dictate who must have an IID, how long they must have it in their vehicle, and other rules regarding the program. According to the law, anyone who is convicted of a DUI will be required to have an IID for at least one year, even first-time offenders. The same is true if you have a blood alcohol content above the legal limit or if you refused to take a breath test.

In addition to the ignition interlock device, a court may also require you to complete an alcohol or drug treatment program or educational courses. These are usually offered by a licensed DUI treatment provider, and there is a list of approved facilities available through the state. The law requires that offenders must enroll in these classes as a condition of getting their driving privileges reinstated, and you will likely have to submit proof of attendance.

Despite the high costs associated with the IID, it is important to comply with all requirements in order to avoid further penalties and possible jail time. The law states that you must have the device in your vehicle for a year, but you can work with an experienced DUI lawyer to reduce this requirement or avoid it altogether by avoiding conviction. To learn more about your DUI options, contact Shah Law Firm. We will schedule a free consultation to discuss your case. We proudly serve clients throughout Phoenix, Scottsdale, Tempe and the surrounding areas. Call or email us today to get started!